Ada's Poetry Alcove
4 min readJan 7, 2021

Day -466 -My Daily Thoughts Haibun Journey -It’s On You

Today was a terrible day for our democracy. The pool of blood in the hall of the Capital will be forever etched in my mind. How did our country get to this point where a sitting president incites violence to stop the congress? Who is responsible for the deaths, the destruction of property, the affront to American democracy and to everyone in America who voted in the election? Well one guess- donald j. trump. Yes, QAnon, the Proud Boys, and the trump supporters should be held responsible. Still, they were aided by Republican House and senate leaders who refuse to tell the truth and debunk these blatant and fraudulent lies about the election. Shame on the 121 Republican House members who refused to vote to confirm Biden. It’s on them.

Votes 92–7 (Cruz, Hawley, Hyde-Smith, Lummis, Marshall, Scott (FL), Tuberville) to reject Perry/Hawley objection to Biden’s Pennsylvania electors.

Arizona (93–6) and Pennsylvania (92–7) objections, three Senators switched votes: Kennedy voted in favor of the Arizona challenge but against the Pennsylvania one. Lummis voted in favor of Pennsylvania but against Arizona. Scott (FL) voted in favor of Pennsylvania but against Arizona. The other five objectors were the same.

Shame on Rep. Matt Gaetz, R-Fla. who after the violence stood on the house floor with another wild fringe conspiracy theory about police facial scans showing that it was the violent terrorist group antifa who breeched congress and not trump supporters. Malarky …double shame on you Gaetz. Own up to what you, supposed representatives of the United States people, did to spur on hate, division and conspiracy theories and enable a small-minded president. Today’s tragedy is on you!

It is also on the police officers who allowed white, trump supporters to breech the capital and take selfies with them. Shame on you!

America, it is on all of us. We can no longer turn a blind eye and say this is just a few radical people and is not who we are. It is who we are, we still are racist, conspiracy loving people, we are people without a backbone and ethics to do what is right and just.

pushing back
racial and political gains
with white privilege

Legislative Hall of Shame members


Tommy Tuberville, Ala., Rick Scott, Fla., Roger Marshall, Kan., John Kennedy, La., Cindy Hyde-Smith, Miss., Josh Hawley, Mo., Ted Cruz, Texas, Cynthia Lummis, Wyo.


Robert B. Aderholt, Ala., Mo Brooks, Ala., Jerry Carl, Ala., Barry Moore, Ala., Gary Palmer, Ala., Mike Rogers, Ala., Andy Biggs, Ariz., Paul Gosar, Ariz., Debbie Lesko, Ariz., David Schweikert, Ariz., Rick Crawford, Ark., Ken Calvert, Calif., Mike Garcia, Calif., Darrell Issa, Calif., Doug LaMalfa, Calif., Kevin McCarthy, Calif., Devin Nunes, Calif., Jay Obernolte, Calif., Lauren Boebert, Colo., Doug Lamborn, Colo., Kat Cammack, Fla., Mario Diaz-Balart, Fla., Byron Donalds, Fla., Neal Dunn, Fla., Scott Franklin, Fla., Matt Gaetz, Fla., Carlos Gimenez, Fla., Brian Mast, Fla., Bill Posey, Fla., John Rutherford, Fla., Greg Steube, Fla., Daniel Webster, Fla., Rick Allen, Ga., Earl L. “Buddy” Carter, Ga., Andrew Clyde, Ga., Marjorie Taylor Greene, Ga., Jody Hice, Ga., Barry Loudermilk, Ga., Russ Fulcher, Idaho, Mike Bost, Ill., Mary Miller, Ill., Jim Baird, Ind., Jim Banks, Ind., Greg Pence, Ind., Jackie Walorski, Ind., Ron Estes, Kan., Jacob LaTurner, Kan., Tracey Mann, Kan., Harold Rogers, Ky., Garret Graves, La., Clay Higgins, La., Mike Johnson, La., Steve Scalise, La., Andy Harris, Md., Jack Bergman, Mich., Lisa McClain, Mich., Tim Walberg, Mich., Michelle Fischbach, Minn., Jim Hagedorn, Minn., Michael Guest, Miss., Trent Kelly, Miss., Steven Palazzo, Miss., Sam Graves, Mo., Vicky Hartzler, Mo., Billy Long, Mo., Blaine Luetkemeyer, Mo., Jason Smith, Mo., Matt Rosendale, Mont., Dan Bishop, N.C., Ted Budd, N.C., Madison Cawthorn, N.C., Virginia Foxx, N.C., Richard Hudson, N.C., Gregory F. Murphy, N.C., David Rouzer, N.C., Jeff Van Drew, N.J., Yvette Herrell, N.M., Chris Jacobs, N.Y., Nicole Malliotakis, N.Y., Elise M. Stefanik, N.Y., Lee Zeldin, N.Y., Adrian Smith, Neb., Steve Chabot, Ohio, Warren Davidson, Ohio, Bob Gibbs, Ohio, Bill Johnson, Ohio, Jim Jordan, Ohio, Stephanie Bice, Okla., Tom Cole, Okla., Kevin Hern, Okla., Frank Lucas, Okla., Markwayne Mullin, Okla., Cliff Bentz, Ore., John Joyce, Pa., Fred Keller, Pa., Mike Kelly, Pa., Daniel Meuser, Pa., Scott Perry, Pa., Guy Reschenthaler, Pa., Lloyd Smucker, Pa., Glenn Thompson, Pa., Jeff Duncan, S.C., Ralph Norman, S.C., Tom Rice, S.C., William Timmons, S.C., Joe Wilson, S.C., Tim Burchett, Tenn., Scott DesJarlais, Tenn., Chuck Fleischmann, Tenn., Mark E. Green, Tenn., Diana Harshbarger, Tenn., David Kustoff, Tenn., John Rose, Tenn., Jodey Arrington, Texas, Brian Babin, Texas, Michael C. Burgess, Texas, John R. Carter, Texas, Michael Cloud, Texas, Pat Fallon, Texas, Louie Gohmert, Texas, Lance Gooden, Texas, Ronny Jackson, Texas, Troy Nehls, Texas, August Pfluger, Texas, Pete Sessions, Texas, Beth Van Duyne, Texas, Randy Weber, Texas, Roger Williams, Texas, Ron Wright, Texas, Burgess Owens, Utah, Chris Stewart, Utah, Ben Cline, Va., Bob Good, Va., Morgan Griffith, Va., Robert J. Wittman, Va., Carol Miller, W.Va., Alexander X. Mooney, W.Va., Scott Fitzgerald, Wis., Tom Tiffany, Wis.